Welcome to Catherine Taylor's Website

Author of Beyond The Moon, the Amazon no. 1 best selling literary novel of WW1, time travel and love, shortlisted for the Eharmony/Orion Love Story Prize and longlisted for the Exeter Novel Prize

"Historical fiction at its very best" - Historical Novel Society

"Taylor’s accomplished, genre-bending book succeeds as a historical novel and a beguiling time-travel love story." - Kirkus Reviews

 

If you've read and enjoyed Beyond The Moon please consider leaving me a review on Amazon and Goodreads - reviews really help new authors. Thank you!

**And to receive unpublished bonus scenes from Beyond the Moon, sign up to my newsletter below**

amazon buy.jpg

beyond the moon

In 1916 1st Lieutenant Robert Lovett is a patient at Coldbrook Hall convalescent hospital in Sussex, England. A gifted artist he’s been wounded in WW1 – the Great War. Shell shocked and suffering from hysterical blindness he can no longer see his own face, let alone paint, and life seems increasingly hopeless.

A century later in 2017 medical student Louisa Casson has just lost her beloved grandmother, her only real family. Heartbroken, she drowns her sorrows in alcohol on the nearby South Downs cliffs – only to fall accidentally party-way down. Doctors fear she may have attempted suicide, and Louisa finds herself involuntarily admitted to Coldbrook Hall, now a psychiatric hospital, an unfriendly and chaotic place.

Then one day, while secretly exploring the old Victorian hospital’s ruined, abandoned wing, Louisa stumbles across a dark, old-fashioned hospital room. Lying inside, in an antiquated iron-framed bed is a mysterious, sightless young man, who tells her he was injured at the Battle of the Somme, a WW1 battle fought more than one hundred years earlier. And that his name is Lieutenant Robert Lovett…

Part war story, part timeslip, part love story – and at the same time a meditation on the themes of war, mental illness, identity and art, Beyond The Moon is an intelligent, captivating debut novel, perfect for book clubs.

For fans of Kate Quinn, Sebastian Faulks, Diana Gabaldon, Ken Follett, Beatriz Williams, Kristin Hannah, Susanna Kearsley and Paullina Simons.

E-book and paperback available on Amazon worldwide

 

Paperback also available via B&N and other independent bookshops

amazon buy.jpg
indiebound.png
amazonuk.png
barnes.png

"Above all I am not concerned with Poetry. My subject is War, and the pity of War. The Poetry is in the pity."

Wilfred Owen 1893-1914

The Cameo Press Ltd, London

  • goodreads-256
Instagram

Sign up for my newsletter:

And receive unpublished bonus scenes from Beyond The Moon

©2019 by Catherine Taylor. Proudly created with Wix.com